UNDERWOOD COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

REGULAR MEETING January 17, 2024

MEMBERS PRESENT: JEFF BONSALL, MATT BRUMMETT, ERIN JOHNSEN, MITCH KAY, TERESA MACE

MEMBERS ABSENT: NONE

ADMIN. PRESENT: ANDY IRWIN, TYLER HAMILTON, MATT MCDONOUGH, NICOLE MURRAY

OTHERS PRESENT: KIM GOERING, LOIS JOHNSON, MIKE NEWMAN, LAURA TENNIGKEIT, JILL TETEN

President Bonsall called the meeting to order at 5:33 p.m.

No public presenter.

Brummett moved to approve the agenda as presented, seconded by Mace, motion carried 5-0.

Brummett moved to approve the bills for payment, approval of the financial reports and approval of the board minutes for December 11, 2023 as presented, seconded by Johnsen, motion carried 5-0.

Superintendent Report:

- Update on water damage to the High School main competition gym
- Next Steps regarding possible restoration or replacement of High School main competition gym floor

Buildings and Grounds Report

- Consultation with companies regarding boiler replacement has continued
- Replacement of the boilers would require hiring a mechanical engineer and a sealed bid process
- Skylights at the HS have large amounts of snow and ice on them. They will be watched closely when thawing

Principals' Report:

- All principals reported on in class observation data in classrooms collected during the 1st semester
- Elementary data collected indicated positive move into more student engagement around technology
- · Middle School data collected indicated showing engagement through groups work has increased
- High School data collected indicated more technology use by teachers than students daily.
- · HS Jazz band participated in the Western Iowa Conference competition and performed well

Brummett moved to approve the appointment of Interim Board Secretary Lisa Jones, seconded by Johnsen, motion carried 5-0.

Kay moved to approve Interim Board Secretary Lisa Jones, Authority to Make Payment, Countersign, and Maintain Accounting Records, seconded by Mace, motion carried 5-0.

Brummett moved to approve the request to the School Budget Review Committee for modified supplemental amount and supplemental aid for the 2024-2025 dropout prevention program in the amount of \$90,310 for expenditures necessary to implement the 24/25 at risk and dropout prevention program, seconded by Johnsen, motion was carried by a roll call vote; Bonsall, aye, Brummett, aye; Kay, aye; Mace, aye; Johnsen, aye.

Kay moved to approve Bank Depositories General and Schoolhouse Funds...American National Bank \$3,500,000 Maximum Deposit Amount, seconded by Mace, motion carried 5-0.

Johnsen moved to approve Bank Depositories General and Schoolhouse Funds...lowa Schools Joint Investment Trust (ISJIT) \$500,000 Maximum Deposit Amount, seconded by Mace, motion carried 5-0.

Johnsen moved to approve Bank Depositories Activity and Nutrition Funds...American National Bank \$450,000 Maximum

Deposit Amount, seconded by Mace, motion carried 5-0.

Brummett moved to approve the appointment of Matt Brummett as the school director for Pottawattamie County Assessor's Conference Board, seconded by Kay, motion carried 5-0.

Brummett move to approve the 1st Reading Board Policy: 403.5 Voluntary Retirement of Certificated Staff Members June 30, 2024, seconded by Kay, motion carried 5-0

Brummett moved to approve the 1st Reading Board Policy: 403.5 Voluntary Retirement of Certificated Staff Members June 30, 2025 with a limit of two on the number of certificated employees applying for retirement benefit. The superintendent was directed to present the board with options as to how the two employees were selected if there are more than two applying, seconded by Kay, motion carried 5-0

Mace moved to accept the resignations from Matt McDonough HS Principal/Technology Director, Denise Mahoney MS English Teacher, Jay Lahners HS Science, Christine Privia Talented and Gifted Teacher, seconded by Brummett, motion carried 5-0.

No contracts for approval

Brummett moved to accept the requests for early retirement from Matt McDonough, Denise Mahoney, Jay Lahners, Christine Privia, seconded by Johnsen, motion carried 5-0.

Johnsen moved to approve volunteer coaches Blu Wahle JH WR pending recertification, Matt Fletcher JH WR Connor Attkisson JH WR pending coaching authorization, seconded by Mace, motion carried 5-0.

Johnsen moved to adjourn, seconded by Mace, motion carried 5-0. Board President Bonsall declared the meeting adjourned at 6:43 p.m.

The Board of Directors met under Chapter 20.17(3) of the Code of Iowa to discuss negotiations strategies.

These minutes are as recorded by the AD/MS Secretary Kim Goering and subject to approval at the next regular board meeting.