Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Underwood Community Schools

Athletics & Activities


Ajax Loading Image


Underwood Activities Hall of Fame 2019 Inductees

During the 2017-2018 school year, the discussion of creating an Underwood Activities Hall of Fame was started by the Underwood Student Activity Advisory Committee. Over the last 2 years the group has worked to develop the Underwood Activities Hall of Fame and on October 18th, 2019 their vision comes to light as we present the first inductees to the Underwood Activities Hall of Fame.

The 1950's Boys Cross Country Teams (1950-1959)

From 1950-1959 the Underwood boys cross country team was a dominant force in the state of Iowa. During this span, they won a total of four team state championships. They were Class “C” team champions in 1952, 1953, and 1954 and the Class “B” team Champions in 1959. The cross country team also finished with 6 individual champions and 2 runner-ups during the 1950s. They earned individual championships in 1950, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1955, and 1959 and had individual runner-up finishes in 1953 and 1957.

Team Champions:

1952 Class “C” Champions (Garold Ryan, George Lee, and Paul Ryan)

1953 Class “C” Champions (Paul Ryan, George Lee, and Ed Turk)

1954 Class “C” Champions (Paul Ryan, George Lee,  and Bob Hough)

1959 Class “B” Champions (Ron Hough, Kenneth Cahrs, and Larry Barganquast)

Individual Champions:

1950-1952 Garold Ryan (3x Individual Champion)

1953           Paul Ryan

1955           Bob Hough

1959           Ron Hough

Individual Runner-up Finishes:

1953           George Lee

1957           Don Storjohann


Jamie Boyd- Athlete 

2019 Underwood Activities Hall of Fame Inductee

Participated in Basketball, Volleyball, Golf, Track, and Softball.

Jamie is a 2004 graduate of Underwood High School. She is the recipient of the 2004 Miss Basketball award in Iowa, the highest individual award given in the state. She was a four-year starter who tallied 1,920 career points and 1,007 career rebounds. She was a three-time first-team all-state player and was named second-team all-state as a freshman. Jamie helped Underwood to a four-year 94-11 record and the Class 2A state championship titles in her junior and senior seasons. She was also named the captain of the 2A all-tournament team both of those seasons. As a senior, she averaged 17.8 points, 8.1 rebounds and 2.4 blocks per game. Jamie was a multi-sport athlete who earned a total of 14 varsity letters in five different sports including basketball, volleyball, softball, golf, and track including All-State honors in both basketball and volleyball. Following her high school career, she went on to play collegiate basketball at the University of Kansas. In 2018 Jamie was inducted into the Iowa High School Basketball Hall of Fame.


Joyce Tiarks- Coach

Softball, Volleyball, JH Basketball, High School Cheer Sponsor and Underwood CSD Activities Director.

Coach Joyce Tiarks was a staple of the Underwood activities department for 25 years. During her time as a coach from 1980-2004, she was the head coach of the high school softball team for 25 years and high school volleyball team for 5 years. She spent 15 years as an assistant volleyball coach, coached junior high basketball, was the high school cheerleading sponsor and was the school’s activities director from 1987-1993. As the softball coach, she retired with a career record of 578 wins and 295 losses for a career .662-win percentage. She guided her teams to 7 state tournaments (1989,1990,1995,1997,2002,2003,2004) placing as high as 3rd place in 2002. Her WIC softball teams won an impressive 11 regular-season titles, 9 WIC Tournament titles and had 3 WIC Tournament runner-up finishes. Coach Tiarks was named the District Softball Coach of the Year in 1990 and 2003. She was named the 2002 Omaha World-Herald Western Iowa Coach of the Year for all sports. In 2005 she was named a finalist for the National Softball Coach of the Year. Coach Tiarks is an inductee of the KMA Hall of Fame (2018-2019) and the Iowa Girls Coaches Association Softball Hall of Fame (2007).