Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Underwood Community Schools

Athletics & Activities


Ajax Loading Image


2019 Inductee: 1950's Boys Cross Country Teams

The 1950's Boys Cross Country Teams (1950-1959)

From 1950-1959 the Underwood boys cross country team was a dominant force in the state of Iowa. During this span, they won a total of four team state championships. They were Class “C” team champions in 1952, 1953, and 1954 and the Class “B” team Champions in 1959. The cross country team also finished with 6 individual champions and 2 runner-ups during the 1950s. They earned individual championships in 1950, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1955, and 1959 and had individual runner-up finishes in 1953 and 1957.

Team Champions:

1952 Class “C” Champions (Garold Ryan, George Lee, and Paul Ryan)

1953 Class “C” Champions (Paul Ryan, George Lee, and Ed Turk)

1954 Class “C” Champions (Paul Ryan, George Lee,  and Bob Hough)

1959 Class “B” Champions (Ron Hough, Kenneth Cahrs, and Larry Barganquast)

Individual Champions:

1950-1952 Garold Ryan (3x Individual Champion)

1953           Paul Ryan

1955           Bob Hough

1959           Ron Hough

Individual Runner-up Finishes:

1953           George Lee

1957           Don Storjohann